Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Redo Log record content. (Oracle 10.2.0.1, Os: windows xp)
Redo Log record content. [message #346876] Tue, 09 September 2008 23:57 Go to next message
Dipali Vithalani
Hi Friends,

I am studying Supplemental logging in detail. Have read lots of articles and oracle documentation about it and redo logs. But couldnot found answers of some doubts..
Please help me clear it.

Scenario: we have one table with primary key. And we execute an update query on that table which is not using the primary key column in any clause..
Question: In this case, does the redo log entry generated for the changes done by update query contain the primary columns values..?

Question:If we have any table with primary key, do we need to enable the supplemental logging on primary columns of that table? If yes, in which circumstances, do we need to enable it?

Also please suggest any good article/site which provide inside details of redo log and supplemental logging, if you know.

Regards,
Dipali..

Re: Redo Log record content. [message #346882 is a reply to message #346876] Wed, 10 September 2008 00:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
Why are YOU incapable or unwilling to run your own benchmark tests so see the results on yourself?
Re: Redo Log record content. [message #346884 is a reply to message #346882] Wed, 10 September 2008 00:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dipali Vithalani
I dont know the way to see/find the contect of redo log.
I want to know whether in first scenario, oracle will store primary column values or not..
If there is any way, please tell me..

Regards,
Dipali..
Re: Redo Log record content. [message #346885 is a reply to message #346884] Wed, 10 September 2008 00:24 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dipali Vithalani
Ana,

Please suggest me , how should i run my own benchmark tests so see the results on myself.. I really don't have idea, how to do this..