Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Basic questions on Oracle (8i/MS server 2003)
Basic questions on Oracle [message #418805] Tue, 18 August 2009 10:32 Go to next message
polsol
I'm a newbie at Oracle compared to most and require some basic information. Hoping this is the right forum to answer my questions.
Having read the 10i manual (one of them) some time back I'm still confussed about the tablespaces and schema relationship. Is there a simple, concise, description of this topic anywhere?

Secondly, I was talking to a programmer who wrote our current 8i application. I was asking why he didn't split up the tables et al into different schemas - such as production, sales, finance etc. He replied that by doing so would have an adverse affect on system resources and performance. Is this correct?
From memory the 'sample' schema on the 10i 'trial version' had an 'HR' sample schema. This would indicate to me (rightly or wrongly) that splitting departments by schema. Seems the way to go for access privledges. How does one normally construct a DB? One large schema or smaller schemas (which would appear more manageable to me)? Any thoughts on the correct way to construct an Oracle DB?

Thanks in advance and excuse my Oracle ignorance!
Re: Basic questions on Oracle [message #418807 is a reply to message #418805] Tue, 18 August 2009 10:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Database Concepts

Regards
Michel
Re: Basic questions on Oracle [message #418808 is a reply to message #418805] Tue, 18 August 2009 10:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/server.102/b14220/toc.htm
Re: Basic questions on Oracle [message #420183 is a reply to message #418805] Thu, 27 August 2009 07:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
arungulia
tablespace :