Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Oracle shutdown immediate hang
icon8.gif  Oracle shutdown immediate hang [message #126105] Fri, 01 July 2005 00:09 Go to next message
jasony
I am new in Oracle database and now having a problem with the Oracle database 9.2.01, on Windows 2000 box. It gives me an error says: Can not allocate log, archival required.

So I logged onto Oracle Enterprise Manager Console, and changed the profile ‘LOG_ARCHIVE_START’ to ‘True’, and then click Apply and then Shutdown Immediate, then it hangs (keep runing, but no any CPU usage)

What should I do now? should I restart the machine to kill the process?

Thanks in advance.

Jason
Re: Oracle shutdown immediate hang [message #126112 is a reply to message #126105] Fri, 01 July 2005 01:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rodionov

I don't exactly understand what have happened with your database. It'll be better if you say error code (ORA-XXXXX). Any way try this if you want to turn your database archivelog on:

enter command line on you server console (cmd from "Run" menu) in it write such commands:

sqlplus /nolog

connect / as sysdba
shutdown immediate;
startup mount exclusive;
alter database archivelog;
atler database open;
commit work;
shutdown immediate;
startup;

But it seems to me that prolem not in this. You'd better say me an error. My ICQ number is 273894510. My E-mail rodionov@redstar.kr.ua

Re: Oracle shutdown immediate hang [message #126122 is a reply to message #126112] Fri, 01 July 2005 02:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
girish.rohini
Hi

probably ur archiver process is struck & u need to manually issue the command for archiving current redo log files.

Regds
Girish
icon7.gif  Re: Oracle shutdown immediate hang [message #126206 is a reply to message #126105] Fri, 01 July 2005 09:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
jasony
Thank you both Rodionov and Girish.

The problem is resovled now by runing the command: shutdown abort.

Thanks again.

Jason