Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » How do I effectively monitor and notify OS diskspace utilized by Oracle tablespaces?
How do I effectively monitor and notify OS diskspace utilized by Oracle tablespaces? [message #258777] Mon, 13 August 2007 10:06 Go to next message
rookiedba
I am a newbie to DBA duties so would greatly appreciate some help here...

I am working on a PL/SQL package to manage and free up space utilzed by extending Tablespaces when disk space reaches 85% (to send a warning message) and when it reaches 95% ( then start deleting records from the oldest partitions of the data tables).

We have an OLAP DB, where we have setup partitions of tables in each TableSpace. When the disk utilization reaches 85% then I should raise a warning (inserting a record to the SysMonitoring table) and when it reaches 95% ( then start deleting the oldest partition of the table in that TableSpace until the disk utlization falls below 85%). I have a mechanism to select the oldest partition table which I will use in there (so do not wory about that). But the rest of the functionality is needed. I am using DBA_SEGMENTS and DBA_DATA_FILES as a resource but can't build an effective logic yet. Would greatly appreciate any insight or help.

Thanks

Rookie DBA
Re: How do I effectively monitor and notify OS diskspace utilized by Oracle tablespaces? [message #258855 is a reply to message #258777] Mon, 13 August 2007 11:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
DreamzZ
use this for calculating free space in tablespace.
SQL> desc dba_free_space
 Name                                      Null?    Type
 ----------------------------------------- -------- ----------------------------
 TABLESPACE_NAME                                    VARCHAR2(30)
 FILE_ID                                            NUMBER
 BLOCK_ID                                           NUMBER
 BYTES                                              NUMBER